What is OSI Model?

A Detailed Explanation

OSI (Open System interconnection) model describes 7 layers through which computer systems communicate over a network. It is based on philosopher translator secretary architecture

Introduction to OSI Model

Characteristics of OSI Model

The OSI model is divided into 2 groups; one is host's responsibility, and other is network's responsibility.

Layers that come under Host’s Responsibility

1. Application Layer  2. Presentation Layer  3. Session layer  4. Transport Layer

Layers that come under Network's Responsibility

1. Network Layer  2. Data Link Layer  3. Physical Layer

OSI Model Layers

This layer contains a bunch of protocols like HTTP / HTTPS, FTP, SMTP, Skype Protocol, Telnet, RDP, etc, and deals with application part.

1. Application Layer

It is responsible for data translation (data into ASCII or UNICODE to Binary format), data compression (reduce data size), and data encryption.

2. Presentation Layer

This layer manages whatever data comes from the top layer, such as segmentation, data flow control, error control, and data merging.

3. Transport Layer

Explore  other OSI layers with detailed explanations.